National Sleep Awareness Week

27Mar06

Today marks National Sleep Awareness Week in the US as well as in Canada. It runs March 27-April 2, 2006, ending just as daylight savings time begins this year. Nobody likes losing an hour of sleep when the clocks turn back, but for chronic pain patients, it can be especially difficult.

Last week I discussed how difficult I find it to sleep sometimes because of my illness, and that it actually does increase my pain when I don't sleep. For me, the reason I have trouble sleeping isn't usually physical pain, but pain itself can cause sleep disturbance as well, and so can our medications. The National Sleep Foundation's Sleep Library outlines how chronic pain interferes with sleep, and what we can do about it.

No Responses Yet to “National Sleep Awareness Week”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

